Minister of Highways and Minister of Mines, Hon. Leonard L. Pace

Minister of Public Works, Hon. Benoit Comeau

Minister of Education, Hon. J. William Gillis Attorney General, Minister in charge of administration of the Civil Service Act and the Civil Service Joint Council Act and Minister in charge of administration of the Human Rights

Act, Hon. Allan E. Sullivan Minister of Municipal Affairs and Minister in charge of administration of the Liquor Control

Act, Hon. J. Fraser Mooney

Minister of the Environment, Minister of Tourism and Minister in charge of administration of the EMO (NS) Act and Regulations, Hon. Glen M.

Minister of Lands and Forests, Hon. Maurice E. DeLory

Minister of Agriculture and Marketing, Hon. John

Minister of Development, Hon. George M. Mitchell

Minister of Social Services, Hon. Harold M. Huskilson

Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Alexander M. Cameron

Minister of Labour and Minister in charge of administration of the Housing Development Act, Hon. Walter R. Fitzgerald

Minister of Public Health, Hon. William M. MacEachern

Minister without portfolio responsible for the Consumer Services Act, Hon. Maynard C. MacAskill.

3.3.1.4 New Brunswick

The government of New Brunswick has a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. The Honourable H.J. Robichaud, sworn in October 8, 1971, is the present Lieutenant Governor. The Legislature elected November 18, 1974 is the 48th in New Brunswick's history and the 21st since Confederation. It has 58 members, at present 33 Progressive Conservatives and 25 Liberals, elected for a statutory term not to exceed five vears.

The Premier receives \$25,000 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. Each Cabinet Minister is paid \$16,000; each member of the Legislative Assembly receives \$8,000 and a \$2,500 allowance for expenses. The Leader of the Opposition receives an additional \$16,000. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker are paid \$5,000 and \$2,500, respectively, in addition to the regular indemnity.

The Executive Council of New Brunswick as at December 31, 1974

Premier, Hon. Richard Hatfield

Minister of Justice, Hon. Paul S. Creaghan Minister of Finance and Chairman of the New Brunswick Electric Power Commission, Hon.

Edison Stairs

Chairman of Treasury Board, Hon. Stewart Brooks Provincial Secretary and Minister of Fisheries, Hon. Omer Léger

Minister of Supply and Services, Hon. George

Minister of Highways, Hon. Wilfred Bishop Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. Roland

Boudreau

Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Hon, Malcolm McLeod

Minister of Health, Hon. G.W.N. Cockburn Minister of Social Services, Hon. Leslie Hull Minister of Labour, Hon. Rodman E. Logan Minister of Education, Hon. Gerald Merrithew Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Horace B. Smith

Minister of Economic Growth, Hon. Lawrence

Minister of Youth, Hon. Jean-Pierre Ouellet Minister of Tourism and Environment, Hon. Fernand Dubé.

3.3.1.5 Quebec

In Quebec, legislative and executive powers are vested in the National Assembly and the Executive Council. As the representative of the Crown, the Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Hugues Lapointe, plays a role in the functioning of both branches.

The National Assembly consists of 110 members elected for a maximum term of five years. Party standings as of July 1975 were as follows: Liberals 100, Parti Québécois six, Ralliement des créditistes two, Union nationale one and Independent one.

All members receive an annual indemnity of \$22,700 and a tax-free representation allowance of \$7,000. In addition, the Executive Council Act and the Legislative Assembly Act provide for additional taxable allowances for the Prime Minister (\$34,050), ministers (\$24,970), ministers without portfolio (\$22,700), the Speaker of the National Assembly (\$24,970), deputy speakers (\$11,350), parliamentary assistants (\$6,810), the Leader of the official Opposition (\$24,970), leaders of other recognized parties (\$10,215), the House Leader of the official Opposition (\$10,215), house leaders of other recognized parties (\$9,080), Chief